A Canadian In Vegas

Adventures of a Northern girl living in the West

5 Things I Love About Winter

n-r-Snowy_Roads_Nov_19_2___Content Yesterday it snowed 5cms in my city. For Canada that’s not much at all, but the first snowfall of the year inevitably causes chaos. It’s as if the past months of spring greenery, summer sunshine, and autumn colours made us all forget how to drive in the snow. The news reported dozens of accident, and it took my mom over three hours to complete a 30 minute commute. It was enough to make me celebrate the fact that this would be my last winter living in Canada. No more sweaty layers or damp gloves, no shoveling snow or car heating time. Moving to the desert certainly has it’s privileges. But us humans are experts at wanting what we can’t have, so I suspect that once I’m in the December desert heat, I will miss snowy Canadian winters. So as a goodbye to Canada’s longest season, here is my list of 5 things I love about winter: family pics 00017 1.  Big, fat snowflakes: Forget about the pounding winter storms that dominate the news. For me, winter snow will always be those big fat snowflakes that fall ever so lightly. The ones that look like pieces of cotton in the air. The ones that like to lightly sprinkle my dark mittens. The ones they have in movies when it’s just cold enough for snow, but not cold enough for bulky winter coats. That snow. images 2.  My furry white Guess coat: I found it during a sale at Burlington Coat Factory. It was off white with an oversized faux fur collar and hood, faux fur accents around the sleeves, and lined with faux fur on the inside. It was too large for me and it looks like I’m drowning in fluff, but I just love wearing it. I was actually excited by the recent drop in temperature because it meant I could wear my coat again. candycanecho 3.  Gingerbread/Peppermint/Candy Cane Hot Chocolate: After Halloween, and sometimes even before it, is the run up to Christmas. So the pumpkin-flavoured-everything is thrown over for Christmas themed treats. I just love a delicious candy cane hot chocolate or gingerbread latte. That sweet warmth is perfect for warming you up in the winter cold. Christmas-house 4.  White Christmas: “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas …” I have spent one Christmas in Las Vegas. The hotels have beautiful glittering Christmas decorations worthy of Sin City excess. But it felt strange to be in a short dress, under the hot sun, with desert sand all around me. To me the holiday season should have a chilled blanket of snow. Admittedly, actually having snow on Christmas day has been a hit and miss in recent years, but when it does happen it puts such a smile on my face. 54366-Charlie-Brown-Snow-Day 5.  Snow days: I remember that feeling when I was in school. My whole body tightened in anticipation. My face glued to the TV or the radio. Every inch of me wishing and hoping to hear those magic words: “Schools will be closed today.” Oh the wonderful joy of having a snow day! Even as an adult I would still wish for snow days when my boss would let us work from home, or leave early to beat a snow storm. Thank you snow, for those enjoyable random days off!

Next year, I’ll share a list of 5 things I love about a Sin City Christmas! las-vegas-christmas

2 comments on “5 Things I Love About Winter

  1. Scott Parker
    November 20, 2014

    I can’t wait for 5 things I love about a Sin City Christmas!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rulezbyjewelz
    November 20, 2014

    Love this post! Canadian winters will miss you:) but oh how exciting to move to Las Vegas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2014 by in Memories of Canada, Top 5 Lists and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

Copyright Notice

© GeekyLawGal and A Canadian In Vegas, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to GeekyLawGal and A Canadian In Vegas with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other subscribers

Categories